Home » Our Practice » Testimonials

Testimonials

John W. Decorato, MD’s Patient Reviews & Recommendations

Plastic Surgery, John W. Decorato, M.D., FACS, Staten Island, NY


Add Your Review to RealSelf.com

Cellulaze

Plastic Surgery, John W. Decorato, M.D., FACS, Staten Island, NY

May 8th, 2012

Second round of Cellulaze, waiting for visible results…again.

Posted by

LaLa_BK15
in Staten Island, NY
Dr. Decorato was great – he answered all my questions and explained everything as it was being done. Once I went home I had a few more questions and even though he was no longer in the office he called me within 10 mins to make sure I was feeling ok (I was in pain when I left) and to answer my questions. One of the days I went it I did wait a really long time, but my apointment was later in the day so I would say the earlier you go in the quicker you will be seen – otherwise be prepaired for a wait. The staff is all very sweet as well.

Cellulaze

Plastic Surgery, John W. Decorato, M.D., FACS, Staten Island, NY

April 4th, 2012

Procedure Was Ok Now Waiting for Results! – Brooklyn, NY

Posted by

ree gee
in Brooklyn ny
the wait was bad.. but I was on Xanax so I was pretty woozy.. the nurses in the o.r. are awesome!!!! I paid half cash and financed the rest so that was easy too.. the woman who does the financing is very nice as well..

Smart Lipo

Plastic Surgery, John W. Decorato, M.D., FACS, Staten Island, NY

January 5th, 2012

Love my SmartLipo on My Inner Thighs and Lower Abs – New York

Posted by

zolin
in New York, NY
I think my review explains it all, I just felt most comfortable with Dr D and felt I trusted him most, and after consulting with other Doctors, I realized Dr D was my first choice. Having had the surgery now, I’m so glad I went ahead with him. I’ll post pics soon.

Radiesse

Plastic Surgery, John W. Decorato, M.D., FACS, Staten Island, NY

October 14th, 2010

Love my Radiesse! – Staten Island

Posted by

eddro
in Staten Island, New York

 

Rhinoplasty Patient

“My daughter is having a Rhinoplasty. So far as a Nurse and her mother I’m happy with how the consultation and answering questions have gone. Can’t wait to see the finished product.”

Rhinoplasty Patient

“I respect Dr. Decorato’s professional and candid opinion. I wold recommend the doctor and staff highly”

Great Doctor!

I’ve always found Dr. Decorato to be down to earth and gives me his honest, unbiased advise on what procedure is best for me. I feel very confident in his expertise as do my friends who I’ve referred to him. Thanks!

Love my Radiesse!

After years of up and down weight loss combined with age and poor bone structure, my face was pretty beat up. Tiny cheek bones and a narrow maxilla provided horrible structure for my cheeks. I had a deep concave look that was just not flattering at all. The price was wonderful, as I received 4 syringes of Radiesse, for 2k. The injections were slightly painful, and the swelling was moderate. However, the results are nothing short of AMAZING!! Doctor Decorato of Staten Island did a fantastic job, and I couldn’t be happier with my results.

Love my SmartLipo on My Inner Thighs and Lower Abs!

Dr. Decorato is awesome. I had SmartLipo® on my inner thighs and lower belly in Sept 2011, and I love the results. I’m 32, 140 lbs. and 5 foot 8, healthy and exercise but couldn’t lose fat in these parts. I came to Dr. D’s office for the first time in Aug 2011. I did all my research for months before deciding on my surgeon and am happy with my choice. I went on consults with Dr. Steinbrech, Dr. Pakeman, Dr. Chia and Dr. Decorato. It was clear to me that Dr. Decorato was the most skilled as well as the friendliest. Word of advice- do your research to make sure you are in safe hands (e.g. I found out that one Dr. had previously killed a patient so did not feel right going ahead with that office.) I liked that Dr. D didn’t pressure me to go ahead with the surgery, simply presented me with his advice on what he could do for me if I chose to proceed. I appreciated that he didn’t make me feel like I needed to fix 10 different things that were so incredibly “wrong” with me, but instead just asked me why I was there and focused on how he could improve what I told him I didn’t like about my appearance, without adding to it.

I want to stress this point because Dr. Decorato was my 2nd consult, and my 1st consult had gone badly as that other surgeon wrongly suggesting that I require far more work done that what I had asked for, and on areas that I had never even thought of as problems to begin with, which left me feeling confused and insecure. At my first consult this other Dr. said SmartLipo® would be a waste of time for me because the skin would be too saggy on my inner thighs, and so the only way forward was a thigh lift (which is about 2x the price). When I researched thigh lifts, I discovered that not only is it more expensive; it also causes huge scars around the pubic area which would have left me even more insecure.

When I went on my 2nd consult with Dr. D, I asked his view on thigh lifts. He said if anyone tells me I need one, I should run from that office because a single girl in her 30’s who is not obese should definitely not endure bad scars around her pubic area for nothing, making it impossible not to tell every future partner that you’ve had plastic surgery. Instead, he said SmartLipo® is the best way forward as it is discreet, and as I’m young and healthy the skin would tighten just fine (and it did). I also like that Dr. D doesn’t close the wounds, while other doctors do, because he explained something to me like “it’s messier on the patient but better to get the tumescent liquid out of your system asap, so it’s healthier for you to endure the leak.” Being a research queen, I found this view corroborated by other top doctors online, so I believe this to be the better technique. I told Dr. D that my previous consult had advised me differently and that he was my 2nd opinion and that I was confused based on the opposite opinions of the 2 doctors I had seen so far. Dr. D told me not to rush with my decision and that I should see further doctors until I feel sure and am able to trust my doctor. Again I really appreciated this; it was the opposite of the hard sell I experienced at my first consult. So I left and went on a few more consults, only to realize Dr. D was, in fact, the best as I felt most comfortable with him. He is down to earth, easy to talk to, and in it for the patient’s happiness rather than the money, which is incredibly rare to find. If you’re wondering how I found him in the first place, it was via a recommendation of a friend who works in the plastic surgery industry so that also gave me the assurance that I was making a smart decision.

One last point on research- Dr. D actually taught me that there is a vast difference in types of accreditations held by surgeons, so do your homework and make sure yours is accredited by the most reputable source, as Dr. D is.

I had my surgery in Sept 2011. It really didn’t hurt as I took a pill which made me pretty loopy before I went into the operating room, so didn’t feel a thing. The doc spoke to me throughout, as I only had local anesthetic, which I recommend. I think the big thing for me was to feel trust, and once I believed in my surgeon, I was at ease, so the surgery was not traumatic. I felt scared when I was sat up at the end and shoved into a garment, as I was leaking everywhere and could see the punctures on my skin, but the doctor assured me I’d be ok and he and the nurses helped walk me out to my car with my meds. One word of advice, bring a blanket! When you stand up, and you’re feeling dizzy/disorientated you will notice you’re also incredibly freezing cold. So bring warm clothes (black jogging bottoms and a buttoned shirt are best) and a blanket to throw over your shoulders.

My parents drove me home, and my mom stayed with me for the first 2 nights. You definitely need someone with you at least for the 1st night; it is pretty scary when you continue leaking and feel weak, so will need someone to help you use the bathroom while still wearing the garment, take your meds at the right time etc. I also took herbal meds to heal quicker (arnica, bromolene, vitamin c, vit k, and some sort of good bacteria thing that the salesgirl at GNC convinced me to buy). Make sure you buy loads of pads (kind of like indoor pet pads if you have a dog) to line under you as you sleep, as you will leak for the first day a lot, it’s pretty gross. My mom had to change those pads every time I went to the bathroom, and it was uncomfortable feeling myself leaking over my bed. My parents also placed my yoga mat on top of my mattress and then my sheet on top, followed by old towels, followed by the disposable pads, as they realized this was the best method of dealing with the leaking.

I don’t remember much of the first 2 days as I was pretty zonked on meds, but I can tell you I could walk, talk, eat etc. Spent most of my time in bed though. On day 2, I started walking around the apt a bit. Leaking stopped thank god. Dr. called me at home that evening, which was nice so I could ask q’s. On day 3, I walked outside for like 5 mins, and then gradually increased it daily. If you walk too much your legs swell, and you feel really heavy/tired like you must sit down immediately, and everything throbs. So listen to your body.

I was lucky in that I took 2 wks off work to recover, which I recommend. Do not go back to work at least for 1 wk. The first wk you will sleep loads and do little. The 2nd wk I was able to get back to my old routine; minus exercise (my doc said no exercise for 4 wks). The garment becomes your friend, even though you hate it for the first wk; it becomes comforting over time. Keep wearing it, I wore mine for 4-6wks. Oh and don’t panic when you see how large your body is after lipo – you are super swollen, and it will take time to go down, this is normal. Also, the bruising looks hideous, but this too will get better. For me, the bruising took about a month to go (I used arnica gel which helped).

I am happy with my results. I was realistic. The Dr. told me I would not have thighs like a skinny Victoria Secret model or something, as my body shape is not like that. I’ve still got curves, but the shape is so much smoother and better/natural looking. I still have big thighs but no longer have huge, disgusting thighs. Although my thighs still touch at the top, but much less than they used to. I am still a bit swollen at 3 months; apparently it takes 6 months to see final results. But I visibly look so much better already and I am ok with not having perfect thighs as my Dr. told me all these things before I had surgery, and so there were no surprises, which I like. I have better looking thighs and a flatter belly now and can wear clothes I could never pull off before surgery.

I have nothing but good things to say about Dr. D and his staff. It has been very inconvenient for me to get to Staten Island, as I live in Manhattan, but it was worth it to be in safe hands. Also, Barbara the patient coordinator is very professional, and Laura the nurse is amazingly warm and sweet. Laura did a few VelaShape treatments on me free of charge post-surgery, which feels so good and helps my shape too. I would recommend Dr. D to everyone and will be back in the future if I need anything done. If you decide to go see Dr. D the consult is free so other than the journey to Staten Island, there’s really nothing to lose. I recommend you do consults with more than one Dr. to make sure you find what is best for you. I’ll post pics soon.

Read Our Reviews
"“My daughter is having a Rhinoplasty. So far as a Nurse and her mother I’m happy with how the consultation…" - Rhinoplasty Patient
"“I respect Dr. Decorato’s professional and candid opinion. I wold recommend the doctor and staff highly”" - Rhinoplasty Patient
"I’ve always found Dr. Decorato to be down to earth and gives me his honest, unbiased advise on what procedure…" - Great Doctor!
"After years of up and down weight loss combined with age and poor bone structure, my face was pretty beat…" - Love my Radiesse!
"Dr. Decorato is awesome. I had SmartLipo® on my inner thighs and lower belly in Sept 2011, and I love…" - Love my SmartLipo on My Inner Thighs and Lower Abs!

Meet Dr. Decorato

One of Staten Island’s top cosmetic surgeons, John W. Decorato, M.D., believes that your choice of plastic surgeon is essential to the success of any procedure. Before selecting either a procedure or a surgeon, learn everything you can about the procedures available and about the doctor. Well-informed patients are able to forge a comfortable professional relationship with their surgeon and actively participate in discussions about the desired procedure.

Click for full bio
Plastic Surgery, John W. Decorato, M.D., FACS, Staten Island, NY Plastic Surgery, John W. Decorato, M.D., FACS, Staten Island, NY